LAVERNE COX: ‘AIN’T I A WOMAN’

http://nevadasagebrush.com/blog/2015/04/14/laverne-cox-aint-i-a-woman/

Recently, Emmy-nominated transgender actress of “Orange is the New Black” Laverne Cox spoke in front of a body of Nevada students to talk about transgender discrimination. Of all the things that Cox spoke about, the thing that struck me was how she identified through her gender, race, and socioeconomic status. “I think it’s important to name the various intersecting components of my identity because I’m not just one thing and neither are you,” Cox said. One student who attended the talk commented, “I love how she talked about the intersectionality of race, gender and sexuality. That’s not talked about as much as it should be and I’m glad she brought it up.” Cox is living in the grey area. She is actively bringing a very uncomfortable topic to the table, and has been received with respect from students and a variety of audiences. I admire Cox’s courage to address these three areas of identification head on, and bring awareness in an open forum.

Leave a Reply

